What are Support Groups

A diagnosis of WM, a rare type of cancer may cause fear, anxiety or uncertainty. Having a rare cancer may make you feel like you’re all alone. But you’re not! 

Reach out to others for support. WMFC Support Groups are the perfect place to talk with other people affected by WM, including patients, family members and caregivers. The groups provide mutual support and offer the opportunity to discuss concerns and share experiences with each other. Support groups, run by volunteers across Canada, enable patients and caregivers to meet in person, to learn from guest speakers, share information, create lasting bonds and connect with the local WM community.

You can join an existing Support Group by contacting the Support Group leader in your area, which are listed below. If there is no Support Group in your local area, you may choose to participate in a regional virtual meeting.

 

Our Support Groups

NB:    During COVID-19 all WM support groups are being conducted on Zoom.

List of Support Groups (with contact information)

Atlantic Canada

Ron Ternoway – rternoway@eastlink.ca
Jim Mason – jimfarmhouse@gmail.com

Quebec

Paul Cadrin – paulcadrin@hotmail.com
Danielle Gagnon – danielle@odessacanada.com

Eastern Ontario

Janet Parcher Cherry – jmpcherry@hotmail.com
Murray Shaw – murray.shaw@sympatico.ca

Toronto/Southern Ontario

Betty McPhee – betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca
Raffaela Mercurio – raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca
Margaret Seliskar –margaret.seliskar@sympatico.ca

Prairie

Elsebeth Hansen-Kriening – elsebethkriening@gmail.com
Vivian Kachanoski – viv.kach@gmail.com

Alberta

Cam Fraser – cam.fraser@wmfc.ca
Stu Boland – stu_boland@hotmail.com
Sari Martin – sarijmartin@gmail.com

British Columbia

Brenda Rogers – bcwallies@gmail.com
Catherine Schindell – kitschindell@gmail.com

National Zoom Support Group

Betty McPhee – betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca

Upcoming Support Group Meetings

Atlantic Support Group Meeting

August 4 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm ADT

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

August 18 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

Quebec Support Group Meeting

September 7 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm EDT

Launch of our new Prairie Support Group

September 22 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm CDT

See More Events

Start a Support Group

If you would like to start a support group, please contact our WMFC Support Group Liaison, Betty McPhee at betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca

Responsibilities
Role of a Support Group Leader