What are Support Groups

A diagnosis of WM, a rare type of cancer may cause fear, anxiety or uncertainty. Having a rare cancer may make you feel like you’re all alone. But you’re not! 

Reach out to others for support. WMFC Support Groups are the perfect place to talk with other people affected by WM, including patients, family members and caregivers. The groups provide mutual support and offer the opportunity to discuss concerns and share experiences with each other. Support groups, run by volunteers across Canada, enable patients and caregivers to meet in person or virtually, to learn from guest speakers, share information, create lasting bonds and connections with the local WM community.

You can join an existing Support Group by contacting the Support Group leader in your area, which are listed below. If there is no Support Group in your local area, you may choose to participate in a regional virtual meeting.

 

Our Support Groups

NB:    During COVID-19 all WM support groups are being conducted on Zoom.

List of Support Groups (with contact information)

Atlantic Canada

Ron Ternoway — rternoway@eastlink.ca
Paul Kitchen — paul@paulkitchen.ca
Gail Ferguson — gailggferguson@gmail.com

Québec

Toutes les réunions se déroulent en français
Paul Cadrin — paulcadrin@hotmail.com
Danielle Gagnon — danielle@odessacanada.com

Eastern Ontario

Rafella Mercurio [temporary] — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Toronto / Southern Ontario

Raffaela Mercurio — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca
Gloria McNeill — gloria.mcneill@wmfc.ca

Oakville / Niagara Falls

Lisa Dickie – lisa.dickie3@gmail.com
Raffaela Mercurio — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Manitoba and Saskatchewan

Tracey Berg — tmsafber@gmail.com
Raffaela Mercurio [temporary] — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Alberta

Dennis Foth — dfoth@ualberta.ca
Cam Fraser — cam.fraser@wmfc.ca

British Columbia

Brenda — bcwallies@gmail.com
Catherine Schindell — kitschindell@gmail.com

Vancouver Island

Dennis Kornaga — denco@shaw.ca

National Zoom Support Group

Raffaela Mercurio — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Upcoming Support Group Meetings

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

May 15 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

June 19 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

July 17 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

August 21 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PDT