What are Support Groups

A diagnosis of WM, a rare type of cancer may cause fear, anxiety or uncertainty. Having a rare cancer may make you feel like you’re all alone. But you’re not! 

Reach out to others for support. WMFC Support Groups are the perfect place to talk with other people affected by WM, including patients, family members and caregivers. The groups provide mutual support and offer the opportunity to discuss concerns and share experiences with each other. Support groups, run by volunteers across Canada, enable patients and caregivers to meet in person, to learn from guest speakers, share information, create lasting bonds and connect with the local WM community.

You can join an existing Support Group by contacting the Support Group leader in your area, which are listed below. If there is no Support Group in your local area, you may choose to participate in a regional virtual meeting.

 

Our Support Groups

NB:    During COVID-19 all WM support groups are being conducted on Zoom.

List of Support Groups (with contact information)

Atlantic Canada

Ron Ternoway – rternoway@eastlink.ca
Jim Mason – jimfarmhouse@gmail.com

Ottawa

Janet Parcher Cherry – jmpcherry@hotmail.com

Montreal

Paul Cadrin – paulcadrin@hotmail.com
Danielle Gagnon – danielle@odessacanada.com

Toronto/Oakville

Betty McPhee – betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca
Raffaela Mercurio – raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Alberta

Cam Fraser – cam.fraser@wmfc.ca
Stu Boland – stu_boland@hotmail.com
Sari Martin – sarijmartin@gmail.com

Vancouver

Catherine Schindell – kitschindell@gmail.com
Brenda Rogers – ocean_blue_123@hotmail.com

National Zoom Support Group

Betty McPhee – betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca
Paul Kitchen – paul.kitchen@wmfc.ca

Upcoming Support Group Meetings

Vancouver Support Group Meeting

March 17 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

Atlantic Support Group Zoom Meeting

March 31 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm ADT

Ottawa Support Group Meeting

April 15 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EDT

Vancouver Support Group: Zoom Meeting

April 21 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm PDT

See More Events

Start a Support Group

If you would like to start a support group, please contact our WMFC Support Group Liaison, Betty McPhee at betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca

Responsibilities
Role of a Support Group Leader