What are Support Groups

A diagnosis of WM, a rare type of cancer may cause fear, anxiety or uncertainty. Having a rare cancer may make you feel like you’re all alone. But you’re not! 

Reach out to others for support. WMFC Support Groups are the perfect place to talk with other people affected by WM, including patients, family members and caregivers. The groups provide mutual support and offer the opportunity to discuss concerns and share experiences with each other. Support groups, run by volunteers across Canada, enable patients and caregivers to meet in person, to learn from guest speakers, share information, create lasting bonds and connect with the local WM community.

You can join an existing Support Group by contacting the Support Group leader in your area, which are listed below. If there is no Support Group in your local area, you may choose to participate in a regional virtual meeting.

 

Our Support Groups

NB:    During COVID-19 all WM support groups are being conducted on Zoom.

List of Support Groups (with contact information)

Atlantic Canada

Ron Ternoway — rternoway@eastlink.ca
Jim Mason — jimfarmhouse@gmail.com
Paul Kitchen — paul.kitchen@wmfc.ca

Québec

Toutes les réunions se déroulent en français
Paul Cadrin — paulcadrin@hotmail.com
Danielle Gagnon — danielle@odessacanada.com

Eastern Ontario

Janet Parcher Cherry — jmpcherry@hotmail.com
Murray Shaw — murray.shaw@sympatico.ca

Toronto / Southern Ontario

Betty McPhee — betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca
Raffaela Mercurio — raffaela.mercurio@wmfc.ca

Oakville / Niagara Falls

Margaret Seliskar – margaret.seliskar@sympatico.ca
Lisa Dickie – lisa@skoric.ca

Manitoba and Friends

Elsebeth Hansen-Kriening — elsebethkriening@gmail.com
Vivian Kachanoski — viv.kach@gmail.com

Alberta

Cam Fraser — cam.fraser@wmfc.ca
Stu Boland — stu_boland@hotmail.com

British Columbia

Brenda — bcwallies@gmail.com
Catherine Schindell — kitschindell@gmail.com

Vancouver Island

Dennis Kornaga — denco@shaw.ca

National Zoom Support Group

Betty McPhee — betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca

Upcoming Support Group Meetings

Toronto / Southern Ontario Support Group Meeting

January 26 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EST

Oakville-Niagara Falls Support Group Meeting

February 15 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm EST

British Columbia Support Group Meeting

February 16 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm PST

Eastern Ontario Support Group Meeting

February 17 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm EST

See More Events

Start a Support Group

If you would like to start a support group, please contact our WMFC Support Group Liaison, Betty McPhee at betty.mcphee@wmfc.ca

Qualities of a WMFC Support Group Leader